The Dale E. Wurster Research Award in Pharmaceutics recognizes individuals who have made significant research contributions to the field of pharmaceutics. This research may be in the areas of physical pharmacy, preformulation, dosage form design, formulation, biopharmaceutics, and/or pharmacokinetics.

Recipients are announced at the AAPS PharmSci 360 meeting. Each joins a distinguished group of scientists who have substantially impacted the field of pharmaceutics.

This award was created and generously funded by Dean and Professor Dale E. Wurster for 20 years. A fund raising initiative was launched to permanently fund the award via an endowment and is currently 80 percent funded. This reflects the strong support to memorialize Dean Wurster’s scientific contributions and to recognize him as a founder of AAPS.

The Wurster family was the lead individual endowment donor. The University of Iowa College of Pharmacy & University of Iowa Pharmaceuticals (UIP) was the lead corporate endowment donor. Two additional tiers of support of have been created with significant contributions from AstraZeneca, Gilead, Merck, Metrics Contract Services, Quotient Clinical, Patheon Pharmaceuticals and additional support from AlphaVektor, Formex, Magothy Consulting, and Norwich Pharma Services. Significant donations have been received from individuals supporting this award.

Donations to the Wurster Award Endowment help provide the recognition and resources needed to highlight those who are making everlasting contributions to pharmaceutics while encouraging our younger generation to follow in their footsteps.

Past Recipients

  • 2018: Diane Burgess, Ph.D.
  • 2016: Steve Byrn, Ph.D.
  • 2014: Panos Macheras, Ph.D.
  • 2012: Brad Anderson, Ph.D.
  • 2010: Theodore W. Randolph, Ph.D.
  • 2008: Larry Augsburger, Ph.D.
  • 2006: Patrick P. DeLuca, Ph.D.
  • 2004: David J. W. Grant, Ph.D.
  • 2002: Nicholas A. Peppas, Sc.D., D.Eng.
  • 2000: Leslie Z. Benet, Ph.D.
  • 1998: Sung Wan Kim, Ph.D.
  • 1996: Joseph R. Robinson, Ph.D.
  • 1994: William I. Higuchi, Ph.D.
  • 1992: Gerhard Levy, Pharm.D.
  • 1990: George Zografi, Ph.D.

Dale E. Wurster Research Award in Pharmaceutics 2018 Recipient

Dale_E__Wurster_Award_-_Diane_Burgess.pngDiane Burgess, Ph.D., FAAPS,  research is focused on formulation science, drug delivery, and manufacturing science of complex parenterals, as well as implantable life table biosensors for metabolic monitoring to improve the quality of life for diabetic patients. Major contributions include: development of novel microcapsule dosage forms; development of “real-time” and accelerated performance tests for complex parenteral dosage forms and development of in-vitro in-vivo correlations for these complex dosage forms; modeling of the pharmacokinetics of proteins implanted in microsphere dosage forms; correlation of interfacial properties with emulsion and nanoparticle stability; development of a novel composite coating for implantable devices that has been shown to prevent the foreign body response in animal models in excess of 6 months; development of a method that allows long-term intracellular and intranuclear tracking of gene therapeutics and gene delivery vectors; design of safe, efficient, and stable non-viral gene delivery systems; application of quality-by-design principles to nanoparticles and liposomes; and development of novel manufacturing methods for liposomes and emulsions, including the development of continuous manufacturing methods with inline process analytical technology for complex parenterals.

Nominate A Worthy Colleague for the Wurster Award!

Dale E. Wurster Research Award in Pharmaceutics:
Support the future of pharmaceutical science today 

AAPS begins accepting nominations: March 2020

The purpose of this award is to recognize a worthy candidate who has made significant research contributions to the pharmaceutical sciences in the specific field of pharmaceutics.

Application Information

This award will be presented to the recipient at AAPS PharmSci 360, October 25-28, 2020.  The recipient will also receive complimentary registration, travel support to PharmSci 360 and a $10,000 monetary award. 

Nominations may be made by any member of AAPS.

If you have questions regarding requirements for this endowed award or how to apply, contact us

How to Contribute

Contribute by Mail

Contribution Form (PDF)

AAPS is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization. All contributions are tax deductible to the extent allowed by law. Tax ID#52-1444968

Please mail donations to:

American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists
2107 Wilson Boulevard, Suite 700
Arlington, VA 22201-3042
Attention: Me'Gesha Portlock

Matching Gifts

If your employer has a Matching Contribution Program, please consider maximizing your contribution to the Dale E. Wurster Award in Pharmaceutics by processing the necessary paperwork needed to match your contribution. Many companies will match your contribution equally, or provide a greater match.

Please be sure to complete the “My company matches my contribution” option on the Dale E. Wurster Research Award in Pharmaceutics Contribution Form.

AAPS will confirm your donation and submit all required documentation in order to assist with processing your request. In addition, your company’s matching contribution will be acknowledged on the AAPS Website.

At the time of making the donation to AAPS Dale E. Wurster Endowment, the donors will be recognized at the levels at which they completed the cumulative gift. Company matches will be applied as part of the total pledge.

Call Us or Email Us

Me'Gesha Portlock
Awards and Fellows Coordinator
Email Us About Contributing to the Endowment

Giving Levels and Benefits

Corporate Giving Levels and Benefits  (PDF)

Individual Giving Levels and Benefits (PDF)  

Lead Corporate Donors
$20,000 +

University of Iowa University of Iowa

Pfizer foundation

Corporate Donors
$10,000 +



Corporate Donors






Quotient Clinical

Corporate Donors



Magothy Consulting Group


Ardea Biosciences



Pfizer Foundation

Bristol-Meyers Squibb
Bristol Meyers Squibb


Our Donors

Individual Lead Donor

Dale Eric and Pamela A. Wurster & Susan Wurster Biel

Individual Donors

Terrence and Donna Dahl
Jatin M. Patel
Colin Rowlings

Individual Donors $1,000-$4,999

Rama Abu Shmeis
Gerry and Jan Burke
J. Keith Guillory
Gus and Beth Hartauer
Jouhn-Wern Jang
Mark Kothapalli
Lloyd E. Matheson
Peter J. Ramsey
Tom Reiland and Joanne Reiland Wakeman
Robert Ternik
Satyam and Bala Upadrashta and Family

Individual Donors
Less than $1,000

Aktham Aburub
Nick Barker
Ira and Jody Buckner
Gerry and Jan Burke in memory of Elizabeth Benz
Rubi Burlage
Tuba Buyuktimkin
William H. Doub
Russell and Peiling Jang
Varaporn Junyaprasert
Bill and Sarah Kolling
Shingai and Jul-Mar Majuru
James McGinity
Dongmei Qiang
Eric Schmitt
Lloyd G. Tillman
Wei-Qin (Tony) Tong and Lian-Feng Huang
Richard Winnike
Irina Zamansky

Corporate Matching Gifts

Bristol-Myers Squibb Matching Gifts Program
Millenium (Takeda)
Pfizer Foundation Matching Gifts Program