AAPS Distinguished Pharmaceutical Scientist Award

AAPS most esteemed award is a lifetime achievement recognizing an individual who has made substantial contributions to the pharmaceutical sciences that have had a lasting impact.

2023 Award Recipient
Mansoor Khan, Ph.D., R.Ph, FAAPS

Past Recipients

AAPS Global Leader Award

Recognizing leaders working in pharmaceutical science, technology, engineering, or education whose contributions to the pharmaceutical sciences community have resulted in an outstanding positive impact on education and/or public health.

2023 Award Recipient
Allen Templeton, Ph.D., FAAPS 

Past Recipients

AAPS Distinguished Service Award

Recognizing AAPS members who have contributed significantly and consistently over a long period of time to benefit AAPS in achieving its mission. 

2023 Award Recipient
Vivian Gray

Past Recipients

Dale E. Wurster Research Award in Pharmaceutics 2022 Recipient 


Richard Guy, Ph.D., FAAPS, is a Professor of Pharmaceutical Science at the University of Bath. His current research primarily addresses the assessment and optimization of topical drug bioavailability.

 His principal achievements have been made in the areas of skin barrier function characterization, enhancement of percutaneous absorption, iontophoresis, noninvasive biosensing of blood glucose and other analytes, and the prediction and assessment of skin penetration and topical bioavailability.

Guy received his Doctor of Science degree from the University of Oxford and has served as a National Expert at the European Medicines Agency. He has over 390 peer-reviewed publications.

Past Recipients

Dale E. Wurster Endowment

Dale E. Wurster, Dean Emeritus 

Dale_E__Wurster_Photo.jpgThe Dale E. Wurster Research Award in Pharmaceutics, recognizes individuals who have made significant research contributions to the field of pharmaceutics. This research may be in the areas of physical pharmacy, preformulation, dosage form design, formulation, biopharmaceutics, and/or pharmacokinetics. Supporters hope this $10,000 award, presented every other year, will allow recipients to further their research in this field and promote progress in pharmaceutics. The award, which was created by Wurster, has attracted support from individuals and organizations who recognize Wurster’s scientific contributions as well as his role as a founder of AAPS. You can help support the award, too!

Support Today!

AAPS 2023 Fellows

Each year, AAPS elevates a few members to Fellow status in recognition of their professional excellence and sustained superior impact in the fields relevant to AAPS’ mission: to advance the capacity of pharmaceutical scientists to develop products and therapies that improve global health.

Xiuling Lu, Ph.D., FAAPS

Ben Boyd, Ph.D., FAAPS

Otilia Koo, Ph.D., M.Sc., FAAPS

Shaukat Ali, Ph.D., FAAPS

Maria Croyle, Ph.D., R.Ph., FAAPS

Patrick Ronaldson, Ph.D., FAAPS

Viera Lukacova, Ph.D., FAAPS

Wellington Pham, Ph.D., FAAPS

AAPS Fellows List

2023 Alice E. Till Advancement of Women in Pharmaceutical Sciences Recognition

The Alice E. Till Advancement of Women in Pharmaceutical Sciences Recognition celebrates an honors an AAPS member who has contributed significantly to the mentorship, advancement, and/or support of women in the pharmaceutical sciences.

Diane Burgess, Ph.D., FAAPS

Past Recipients

The AAPS Journal High Impact Article Award

Recognizing an article  published in the last two years in The AAPS Journal that is judged exceptional by the Editors for its impact on the pharmaceutical sciences.

Corresponding Authors: Julianne D. Twomey, Baolin Zhang

Cancer Immunotherapy Update: FDA-Approved Checkpoint Inhibitors and Companion Diagnostics

The AAPS Journal, Volume 23, Article number: 39 (2021)

Past Recipients

AAPS PharmSciTech High Impact Article Award

Recognizing an article published in the last two years in AAPS PharmSciTech that is judged exceptional by the Editors for its impact on pharmaceutical technology. 

Corresponding Authors: Shahla Mirzaeei, Ali Nokhodchi

Co-Authors: Shiva Taghe, Kofi Asare-Addo 

Polyvinyl Alcohol/Chitosan Single-Layered and Polyvinyl Alcohol/Chitosan/Eudragit RL100 Multi-layered Electrospun Nanofibers as an Ocular Matrix for the Controlled Release of Ofloxacin: an In Vitro and In Vivo Evaluation

AAPS PharmSciTech, Volume 22, Article number: 170 (2021)

Past Recipients

Pharmaceutical Research Meritorious Manuscript Award

Corresponding Author: Kevin J. Roberts

Co-Authors: Chang Wang, Ian Rosbottom, Thomas D. Turner, Sydney Laing, Andrew G. P. Maloney, Ahmad Y. Sheikh, Robert Docherty, Qiuxiang Yin & Kevin J. Roberts

Molecular, Solid-State and Surface Structures of the Conformational Polymorphic Forms of Ritonavir in Relation to their Physicochemical Properties

Pharmaceutical Research, Volume 38, 971–990 (2021)

Past Recipients

2022 AAPS Pharmaceutical Global Health Award

Recognizing AAPS members for their impact on their communities, both in the United States and abroad, through humanitarian work that may or may not involve the pharmaceutical industry, but which does improve public or global health.

2946-002_AwardHeadshots_S-Murthy_1.pngS. Narasimha Murthy, Ph.D., FAAPS
Topical Products Testing LLC

Past Recipients

2023 AAPS Emerging Leader Award

Recognizing scientists and pharmaceutical professionals who are early in their careers and who have made a significant the pharmaceutical sciences that promotes pubic health.

Raman Bahal, Ph.D.  

Past Recipients

Special Recognition

2023 AAPS Student Chapter Awards

Recognizing chapters that have provided exceptional service and outreach.
  • University of Texas at Austin AAPS Student Chapter
  • University of Toronto AAPS Student Chapter

2023 Best Poster Award Recipients

Aishwarya Saraswat, Ph.D., St. John’s University
Novel Gene Therapy for Drug-Resistant Melanoma: Synergistic Combination of PTEN Plasmid and BRD4 PROTAC Loaded Lipid Nanocarriers 

Neetu Singh, MS, University of Utah
Ultrasmall Nanoprobes for Fluorescence-Guided Surgical Resection of Peritoneally Disseminated Tumors

Richa Vartak, Ph.D., St. John’s University
Cetuximab-Based Proteolysis Targeting Chimera for Effectual Downregulation of NSCLC with Varied EGFR Mutations

Retired Awards

As AAPS and the pharmaceutical sciences have evolved, so has the AAPS Awards program. Many scientists throughout the organization's history have been recognized for inspiring and exemplary work by awards that AAPS no longer offers. View these awards and recipients here.

Retired Awards Recipients

Awards Committee

Doodipala Samba Reddy, Ph.D., R.Ph., FAAPS (Chair)
Yurong Lai, Ph.D., FAAPS (Past Chair)
Wei Li (Member)
Steven R. Little, Ph.D. (Member)
Li J. Yu, Ph.D. (Member)
Faye Vazvaei, M.S. (AAPS Board of Directors Li)